Molweni from Capa!

Or Kapa, or Kaapa, or Caapa….it’s slang for Cape Town and I can’t find the spelling online. Anyways, hello everyone from Cape Town! I am finally here, and I could not be happier. The last few days have been pretty busy, but so exciting.

In Jo’burg, we went to Lillies’ Farm, which was the headquarters of MK, the violent arm of the ANC during apartheid. We also had our first Xhosa classes! The clicks are tough, but I can pretty successfully introduce myself now. For instance, Igama lam nguCaitlin (my name is Caitlin). “Molweni” is how you greet a group of people. I took an ISP in Xhosa in high school, which has so far proved pretty helpful. I remembered about half of what we had learned!

I also bonded with our program assistant one of our last nights in Jo’burg. We talked about my last trip to South Africa. She was very excited about it. She hadn’t heard of the smaller children’s home I’d been to, Linawo, but she’d heard of Baphumelele. She also said we’re visiting the charter school I went to, LEAP!

Tuesday, we flew to Cape Town! The flight was really hilarious. Their safety videos and pamphlets had ridiculously cheesy jokes…like how you should put masks on any children or anyone who acts like a child, or how they didn’t have laughing gas in the masks. It was not particularly comforting to fly on such a lax airline. I think most of us had carry ons. We also thought we lost a few people at the airport but we finally found them!

When we landed, we drove through Cape Town to the lodge we’re at now. It’s a gorgeous place right in the center of Cape Town, near the fun street! The drive to the lodge was gorgeous and last night we had our first real night out.

Today we went to our classroom for the first time. We had an NGO, Crossing Bridges Africa, talk to us, meandered around Cape Town a bit, and learned more about the program.

Tomorrow, they’re dropping us off in a random spot in Cape Town and we have to find our way back. I am genuinely terrified! But also excited…I hear it’s always an adventure that people end up appreciating a lot. We’re supposed to meet people, learn some Xhosa, and come back with stories.

This program has been incredible so far. If you asked me how I was doing, I’d say “sharp sharp!” Which is slang for “pretty awesome!”

Also, you will probably never see me post pictures here. It’s a lot of internet to upload it, so I’m a little wary of it. I’ll post a flickr later.

Leave a Reply

